Cuckoo: Unabridged edition

By Sophie Draper, Read by Emma Pallant

‘Spooky and absorbing. I was gripped from the first page!’ CASS GREEN

There’s a stranger in your house…

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in Derbyshire. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship, and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do.

As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth?

A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green. If you love CUCKOO, don’t miss Sophie Draper’s brand-new mystery MAGPIE, available to order now!

Readers love CUCKOO:
 
‘A remarkably, taut and chilling debut. I absolutely loved it. Brilliant writing. All the creepiness. A heart-stopping ending’ CLAIRE ALLAN

‘Sophie Draper is a remarkable new voice, combining beautiful writing with a gothic creepiness and a level of suspense which will keep the reader gripped to the end’ STEPHEN BOOTH

‘A brilliant, sinister debut that creeps under your skin and keeps you hooked until the shocking ending’ ROZ WATKINS

‘Wow! This is what a horror story is supposed to be! Super spooky and absolutely wonderful in all its gothic glory’ NETGALLEY REVIEWER

‘The ending was amazing. Psychological fiction at its best. Five Stars’ NETGALLEY REVIEWER
 
‘I never use the term “jaw-dropping” but it best describes the rest of this spectacular read!’ NETGALLEY REVIEWER
  
The ending BLEW. ME. AWAY. I feel like I’m going to have a book hangover now. SO, SO GOOD’ NETGALLEY REVIEWER

Format: Audio-Book
Release Date: 29 Nov 2018
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-831130-8
Detailed Edition: Unabridged edition
Sophie Draper won the Bath Novel Award 2017 with this novel. She has also won the Friday Night Live competition at the York Festival of Writing 2017. She lives in Derbyshire, where the book is set, and under the name Sophie Snell she works as a traditional oral storyteller.

”'Spooky and absorbing. I was gripped from the first page” - CASS GREEN

”'A remarkably, taught and chilling debut. I absolutely loved it. Brilliant writing. All the creepiness. A heart-stopping ending” - CLAIRE ALLAN

”'Sophie Draper is a remarkable new voice, combining beautiful writing with a gothic creepiness and a level of suspense which will keep the reader gripped to the end” - STEPHEN BOOTH

'A brilliant, sinister debut that creeps under your skin and keeps you hooked until the shocking ending' ROZ WATKINS -