After the Storm

By G. D. Wright

‘Tense and gripping…A dark beating heart of a novel’ GILLIAN McALLISTER

––––––––––––––––––

Don’t miss the gripping and emotional debut crime novel in which a child’s tragic drowning rips a small community apart with devastating consequences…

––––––––––––––––––

Two children went into the sea. Only one came out alive.

Introducing Sergeant Mike Adams and DS Sue Willmott, Beachbrook’s best investigators.

When local couple Andrew and Sophie take their daughter and her friend to the beach on a stormy day, they are momentarily distracted leading both children to get washed out to sea. Andrew dives in, but comes back ashore with only one child – his own daughter, Maria. Joe, the son of his best friend and local police officer, Chris, has drowned. But it was just a tragic accident…wasn’t it?

As Sergeant Mike Adams and DS Sue Willmott investigate what really happened in the water that afternoon, the ripple effects of the tragedy start to tear the community apart. The detectives must discover the truth before their colleague – bereaved and desperate father, Chris – takes the investigation into his own hands…

––––––––––––––––––

AFTER THE STORM is the gripping debut crime drama novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Gillian McAllister, Ann Cleeves and shows like Broadchurch, Happy Valley and The Bay.

––––––––––––––––––

‘Tense and gripping…A dark beating heart of a novel’ GILLIAN MCALLISTER

‘An absolute rollercoaster ride of a book…truly gripping’ JENNIE GODFREY

’Cleverly written and filled with tension…emotional and compelling. Fantastic writing that kept me gripped until the last page. I loved it’ D.S. BUTLER

‘A devastating, all-consuming beast of a book. Unforgettable.’ CHARLIE GALLAGHER

‘This book made me cry; gripping, haunting, devastating’ JACKIE KABLER

‘A tense and emotionally charged story of loss and human resilience, with a narrative that pulls you in like the tide, dragging you out to sea’ MORGAN GREENE

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 01 Aug 2024
Pages: 384
ISBN: 978-0-00-870240-3
Gary Wright joined Kent Police at the age of 18 and worked in a variety of uniformed roles. At the age of 29, and completely out of the blue, he suffered two cardiac arrests that led to the diagnosis of a life limiting and incurable disease of the heart. Following the implantation of an internal defibrillator into his heart, he was unable to continue policing and retired at the age of 30. He bought a coffee shop in Ramsgate Harbour, and spent years looking out over the sea and dreaming up stories. He now writes full time, committing those very stories to paper.After The Storm is Gary\'s debut novel, published by Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins UK.

'Tense and gripping…A dark beating heart of a novel, a murder mystery but also an examination of the pressures of the police and justice system: those who come up against it, but, more importantly, those who work in it and bear the consequences of that trauma…' GILLIAN McALLISTER -

'What an absolute rollercoaster ride of a book. Reminding me of Broadchurch, with its small town feel & its taut, propulsive plot, After The Storm is truly gripping.' JENNIE GODFREY -

'Cleverly written and filled with tension, After the Storm is an emotional and compelling read. Fantastic writing that kept me gripped until the last page. I loved it.' D.S. BUTLER -

'A devastating, all-consuming beast of a book. This is a tale of normal lives smashed to pieces in a moment and will have every reader questioning themselves and how they would react. The sign of a great story. Unforgettable.' CHARLIE GALLAGHER -

'This book made me cry; gripping, haunting, devastating' JACKIE KABLER -

'A tense and emotionally charged story of loss and human resilience. It delivers heart-wrenching moments and a narrative that pulls you in like the tide, dragging you out to sea.' MORGAN GREENE -