The Lighthouse: Unabridged edition

By Fran Dorricott, Read by Kate Louise Okello, Imogen Wilde and Beth Eyre

A spooky rollercoaster of a book. Lots of twists and turns – I loved it’ Simon McCleave ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

No one expected them to go there. The question is: will any of them leave?

Six friends travel to a remote island north of the Scottish Highlands for an old school reunion. They’ve rented The Lighthouse – a stunning, now abandoned building that was once notorious for deaths at sea.
 
On the first evening, someone goes missing. The group search all through the night to no avail. But when the five remaining friends return to the lighthouse early the next morning, they are shocked to find James inside. He’s looks terrified – but won’t say a word about where he’s been.
 
The party vow to put the strange night behind them and enjoy the rest of their stay, but when more unexplained things begin to occur, tensions escalate. It’s clear James knows something, but nothing will persuade him to give up the secrets of the island. Is he protecting his friends from a terrible truth, or leading them into more danger?

A chilling and powerfully atmospheric suspense novel with a gothic edge, perfect for fans of The Hunting Party and The Sanatorium.

Readers have been ensnared by The Lighthouse

‘Such a strong sense of place…vivid and atmospheric’ CAROLINE CORCORAN

Charming, old-fashioned and eerily atmosphericDAILY MAIL

So creepy it kept me awake!’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Claustrophobic and eerie – it kept me guessing!’ NELL PATTISON

‘Wonderfully atmospheric, slow creeping menace, with a chilling edge’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Creepy, tense and so, so atmosphericANDREA MARA

‘Twisty, creepy, impossible to put down – your head will spin’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A claustrophobic atmosphere, mounting suspense and twists and turns that will keep you hookedVICKI BRADLEY

‘So many what ifs, twists and turns and nail-biting suspense’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A brilliant page-turner’ CLOSER

‘Doesn’t let you go until the unexpected conclusion – a 5 star read’ Reader Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Format: Audio-Book
Release Date: 03 Feb 2022
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-844935-3
Detailed Edition: Unabridged edition
Fran Dorricott is an author based in Derby, where she lives with her family, two cats, and three dogs (one of whom weighs more than she does). She holds a degree in American Literature with Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia and an MA with distinction in Creative Writing from City University London.Fran is also a bookseller working in the Derby branch of Waterstones, which is secretly just a way for her to fuel her ridiculous book-buying addiction.

Praise for The Lighthouse: -

”'A spooky rollercoaster of a book. A great set of interesting characters whose dark backstories reveal themselves as the story develops. Lots of twists and turns. I loved it. Highly recommended” - SIMON McCLEAVE

”'A charming, old-fashioned and eerily atmospheric piece of Gothic storytelling” - DAILY MAIL

”'Such a strong sense of place that you will be genuinely confused when you look up and realise you’re reading on a train and not on the bleak, isolated island that the author paints so vividly and beautifully” - CAROLINE CORCORAN

”'Claustrophobic and eerie - it kept me guessing!” - NELL PATTISON

”'A brilliant page-turner” - CLOSER

”'Creepy, tense and so, so atmospheric - The Lighthouse is a wonderfully satisfying story with layers and layers of suspicion and intrigue” - ANDREA MARA

”'The Lighthouse has a claustrophobic atmosphere, mounting suspense and twists and turns that will keep you hooked. I couldn’t put it down” - VICKI BRADLEY