The Queen’s Spy

By Clare Marchant

A perilous mission. An unforgivable betrayal. A secret lost in time…

1584: Elizabeth I rules England. But a dangerous plot is brewing in court, and Mary Queen of Scots will stop at nothing to take her cousin’s throne.

There’s only one thing standing in her way: Tom, the queen’s trusted apothecary, who makes the perfect silent spy…

2021: Travelling the globe in her campervan, Mathilde has never belonged anywhere. So when she receives news of an inheritance, she is shocked to discover she has a family in England.

Just like Mathilde, the medieval hall she inherits conceals secrets, and she quickly makes a haunting discovery. Can she unravel the truth about what happened there all those years ago? And will she finally find a place to call home?

Enchanting and gripping, The Queen’s Spy effortlessly merges past with present in an unforgettable tale of love, courage and betrayal – perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers love The Queen’s Spy:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Every so often you come across a book that you know will never leave you. This is one of those books… will stay with me for a long time to come and is most certainly one of my favourites.’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I adored [this]… had me hooked from the first page and when I wasn’t reading it, I found myself thinking about it... A truly wonderful read, it is my favourite book of the year!’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Where to start! I loved this book so much – I couldn’t put it down but was loathe to finish it.’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Utterly beautiful, a real page turner! I took this book camping with me and was so grateful that it was on my kindle paperwhite because I couldn’t put it down and ended up reading it until almost 3am!’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Absolutely brilliant, I loved it! If I could give it more than five stars I would!’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book was one I couldn’t put down. I read it in a day… it’s left me wanting more.’ Reader review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wow!…. Simply stunning! I was absolutely hooked right from the beginning!’ Reader review

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 01 Mar 2022
Pages: 400
ISBN: 978-0-00-845435-7
Growing up in Surrey, Clare always dreamed of being a writer. Instead, after gaining a degree in history and an MA in women’s studies she accidentally fell into a career in IT. After spending many years as a project manager in London, she moved to Norfolk for a quieter life and trained as a professional jeweller.Now, finally writing full-time, she lives with her husband and the youngest two of her six children.

Praise for Clare Marchant: -

”'Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of secrets that echo through time” - RACHEL HORE, author of The Love Child

”'A rich and vivid historical story, The Secrets of Saffron Hall is one of those rare books that is totally engrossing. I loved it” - NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Forgotten Sister

”'The past and present is skilfully entwined in this captivating and emotional debut” - HEIDI SWAIN, author of The Secret Seaside Escape

”'Emotive, immersive and compelling, a beautiful story that captures the heart” - LIZ FENWICK, author of The Path to the Sea

”'This pulled me in and didn’t let me go: a page-turner with such historical depth and tender touch that it enchanted my heart. I adored it.” - LAURA JANE WILLIAMS, author of Our Stop

”'Intriguing and fascinating, a real insight into a turbulent time in England’s history” - KATHLEEN MCGURL, author of The Secret of the Chateau

”'An intensely gripping, emotional read, that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. An atmospheric story sure to please all fans of timeslip novels!” - CHRISTINA COURTENAY, author of Echoes of the Runes

”'A beautifully written story which pulls you in and whisks you away to another time. Clare Marchant is a fabulous new talent” - ROSIE HENDRY, author of the East End Angels series

”'A charming and engaging mystery, beautifully told” - JENNI KEER, author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

”'An emotionally gripping and page-turning tale of love and loss” - NATALIE MEG EVANS, author of The Paris Girl