The Mapmaker's Daughter

By Clare Marchant

Oh my word… fantastic… [The] stories intertwine so beautifully, it’s truly amazing. Such a lot of research must have to have been done but so worth it. I can’t recommend this book enough.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Could a rediscovered map show her the way?

Present day: When thirty-six-year-old Robyn Willoughby discovers an exquisite yet blood-stained Tudor map in her father’s antique map shop, desperate for a distraction from her problems, she decides to investigate. But as Robyn delves into the mystery, she finds herself caught up in a centuries-old secret – one that will change her life forever.

1569: Forced to flee Holland to escape persecution, twenty-year-old Freida Ortelius uses her mapmaking skills to start anew in London. Soon her rare talent catches the eye of Queen Elizabeth, who demands Freida’s help in fighting the Spanish threat. Freida must now embark on a deadly mission, the consequences of which will echo down the ages…

A sweeping and heartbreaking read, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers adore The Mapmaker’s Daughter:

Loved this… the characters were brilliant and the storyline was amazing, wonderfully written and descriptive, could not put it down.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This book has it all: history, intrigue, suspense, mystery, and a gripping narrative that kept me engaged from beginning to end.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Loved this book!… Great characters and story that intertwined. Highly recommended.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A joy to read… I loved the characters and the way the plot of both times weaved and intwined… Excellent.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fascinating! I would recommend this book to all lovers of historical fiction without hesitation.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 13 Dec 2022
Pages: 384
ISBN: 978-0-00-845438-8
Growing up in Surrey, Clare always dreamed of being a writer. Instead, after gaining a degree in history and an MA in women’s studies she accidentally fell into a career in IT. After spending many years as a project manager in London, she moved to Norfolk for a quieter life and trained as a professional jeweller.Now, finally writing full-time, she lives with her husband and the youngest two of her six children. This is her third novel.

Praise for Clare Marchant: -

”'Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of secrets that echo through time” - RACHEL HORE, author of The Love Child

”'A rich and vivid historical story, The Secrets of Saffron Hall is one of those rare books that is totally engrossing. I loved it” - NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Forgotten Sister

”'The past and present is skilfully entwined in this captivating and emotional debut” - HEIDI SWAIN, author of The Secret Seaside Escape

”'Emotive, immersive and compelling, a beautiful story that captures the heart” - LIZ FENWICK, author of The Path to the Sea

”'This pulled me in and didn’t let me go: a page-turner with such historical depth and tender touch that it enchanted my heart. I adored it.” - LAURA JANE WILLIAMS, author of Our Stop

”'Intriguing and fascinating, a real insight into a turbulent time in England’s history” - KATHLEEN MCGURL, author of The Secret of the Chateau

”'An intensely gripping, emotional read, that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. An atmospheric story sure to please all fans of timeslip novels!” - CHRISTINA COURTENAY, author of Echoes of the Runes

”'A beautifully written story which pulls you in and whisks you away to another time. Clare Marchant is a fabulous new talent” - ROSIE HENDRY, author of the East End Angels series

”'A charming and engaging mystery, beautifully told” - JENNI KEER, author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

”'An emotionally gripping and page-turning tale of love and loss” - NATALIE MEG EVANS, author of The Paris Girl