The Lake

The truth lies just beneath the surface…

Kate’s world falls apart when her teenage son drowns in the waters by his school. She’s convinced it wasn’t just a tragic accident, but no one will listen.

Then, six years later, Kate unearths Michael’s lost diary and realises she may finally be able uncover what really happened that night.

But as she delves deeper, she begins to realise that she didn’t really know her son – or the people in his life – at all. And that, sometimes, secrets are better left submerged…

An absorbing, emotionally-charged and addictive page-turner that will keep you gripped into the dark hours, perfect for fans of Linda Green and Teresa Driscoll.

Readers love The Lake:

Atmospheric, unsettling, and gripping, Louise is clearly a fresh new talent to the genre’ Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter

‘One of the best debut novels I have read – compelling, claustrophobic and captivating’ Katerina Diamond, author of The Heatwave

‘An intelligent and thought-provoking story that combines psychological thrills with the heartfelt emotions of a grieving mother, with a great cast of characters, this book is highly recommended’ Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

Related Articles

Exclusive Extract of The Lake by Louise Sharland

1 The small patch of sand and scrubland that borders the lake is nearly empty; just a woman and her young son skipping stones. A few metres out, a paddleboarder has paused his journey to take in the view. I try my best to appreciate the beauty, but everything about… Read More

An interview with Louise Sharland

An interview with the Avon x Big Issue competition winner, Louise Sharland: How did you find out about the Avon x Big Issue writing competition? One of my previous roles was working for the homelessness charity Crisis UK as a Work and Learning Coach, so I have a deep connection… Read More