The Cover Up

Marnie Riches

ISBN
9780008203979
Pub date
11/01/2018
Binding
Price
£1.99

Buy Now from:

Book Overview


How far would you go to protect your empire?

Manchester’s criminal underworld is reeling from the loss of its leader, Paddy O’Brien. In the wake of her husband’s death, Sheila O’Brien takes charge of the city, and for once, she’s doing things her way.

But she hasn’t reckoned with the fearsome Nigel Bancroft, a threat from Birmingham who is determined to conquer Manchester next.

As a power tussle begins, Sheila is determined to keep control of the empire she has won – even if it means she has to die trying…

A heart-stopping read with a gritty edge, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

About the author


Reviews


PRAISE FOR MARNIE RICHES

‘Gritty and gripping’ Kimberley Chambers, Sunday Times No.1 Bestseller

‘The writing is slick and razor sharp, the characters are edgy and driven, and you won’t find dialogue this gritty from anyone but Riches. Comes HIGHLY recommended from me.’ Helen Fields, author of Perfect Prey

‘Marnie Riches is already a leading light in the field of Mancunian noir. Born Bad vividly covers all aspects of her city, from its rundown backstreets and grime-covered civic buildings to its rich musical legacy…It’s impressive.’ The Guardian

‘Pacy, poignant, funny and violent, it grabs you by the hand and drags you down the mean streets of Manchester with such verve and authenticity that you can almost smell the rain and blood as you turn the pages.’ Simon Toyne, international bestselling author of the Sanctus trilogy

‘I loved the energy of this book…Riches’ story-telling is blistering, vivid and super-pacy. It’s also very funny, even at its darkest.’ Helen Cadbury

‘This book is stunning…there are subplots that will have the reader loving a character on one page, and hating them the next. There are moralistic twists and turns which will see the reader empathising, and having disdain, with a person all at the same time. Someone needs to make it into a film!’ Nigel Adams Bookworm Blog

*PRAISE FOR MARNIE RICHES PREVIOUS SERIES*

‘Fast-paced and enthralling’ C. L. Taylor, author of The Missing

‘Fast, furious, fantastic…One killer thriller!’ Mark Edwards

‘A strong, edgy debut that deserves to do well’ Clare Mackintosh

‘Marnie Riches arrives with a fully formed narrative skill that suggests decades of experience; she’s created a wonderfully idiosyncratic heroine, prone to bad judgement, and placed her in an artfully constructed novel that even incorporates cogent discussions of sexuality and gender. Ms Riches is clearly a name to watch!’ BARRY FORSHAW, author of Euro Noir and The Rough Guide to Crime Fiction