Her Hidden Life

V.S. Alexander

ISBN
9780008262853
Pub date
03/05/2018
Binding
Price
£7.99

Buy Now from:

Book Overview


It’s 1943 and Hitler’s Germany is a terrifying place to be.
But Magda Ritter’s duty is the most dangerous of all…

Assigned to The Berghof, Hitler’s mountain retreat, she must serve the Reich by becoming the Führer’s ‘Taster’ – a woman who checks his food for poison. Magda can see no way out of this hellish existence until she meets Karl, an SS officer who has formed an underground resistance group within Hitler’s inner circle.

As their forbidden love grows, Magda and Karl see an opportunity to stop the atrocities of the madman leading their country. But in doing so, they risk their lives, their families and, above all, a love unlike either of them have ever known…

Lose yourself in this sweeping, heroic love story fraught with
danger. The perfect read for fans of Dinah Jeffries and Gill Paul.

About the author


Reviews


‘Alexander’s intimate writing style gives readers openings to wonder about what tough decisions they would have made in Magda’s situation. The “taster’s” story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay’s Sarah’s Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander.’
THE LIBRARY JOURNAL

‘Alexander sweeps readers into a different WWII novel, exploring the inner circle at Hitler’s mountain retreat through the eyes of a German girl. This well-researched novel allows readers an intimate glimpse into Hitler’s mental state, Eva Braun’s place in his life, and his war strategies. Alexander deliberately changes what could be a tense portrait of the era into a calm picture of the bucolic lifestyle of the retreat. Yet, readers still feel the tension between the Nazis, the ordinary German people, and the resistance, as one woman is caught in a mora dilemma with only her courage to keep her alive. Certainly, this book is an interesting reimagining of a key moment in history.’
RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars